Back to artist index
back to Artists
Sound & VisionSound

Maximum Joy was an offshoot of the Pop Group. They were a post-punk band that existed after the Pop Group's breakup in the early '80s.

Maximum Joy was formed in 1979 by Janine Rainforth (singer/violin/clarinet) and Tony Wrafter (sazophonist/trumpeter, previously of another Bristol band, Glaxo Babies). In the wake of the infamous Pop Group and taking from the hot bed of musical influences driving the Bristol scene at the time: punk, reggae, funk, soul and jazz - the band developed their own unique version of the post-punk Bristol sound. Sometimes soothing, occasionally challenging, the groove combined funk, punk, soulful jazz and wild improv with daring and panache. Other founder members were Charlie Llewellyn (drums, previously of Glaxo Babies), John Waddington (guitar, previously of Glaxo Babies) and Dan Catsis (bass, previously of Pop Group and Glaxo Babies).

Further info and CD available from Crippled Dick Hot Wax!

1 White & Green Place
2 Stretch
3 Silent Street
4 All Wrapped Up!
5 Dancing On My Boomerang