Back to artist index
Statik Sound System
Statik Sound System
back to Artists
Sound & VisionSound
Statik Sound System’s first album ‘Tempesta’ (1996) was described in Muzik as a ‘thoroughly uplifting musical beverage’ and as a combination of ‘breakbeat fusions and downtempo skanks’ by The Face. Following the widespread music press acclaim garnered by the album, Statik were subsequently featured on endless compilations including Kruder and Dorfmeister’s ‘DJ Kicks’ album for K7. Their tracks were re-mixed by artists as diverse as Cut La Roc, Mr. Scruff, Smith and Mighty, Spring Heel Jack, Aim, Juryman, Bullitnuts, Spacer, Tao, More Rockers and Flynn and Flora and brought together on 1997’s ‘Remix Selection’ album. Live appearances and many tours followed throughout the UK and Europe.

Following ‘Tempesta’, the band spent a couple of years in hibernation regrouping, building their own studio and re-inventing themselves around a creative core of founder member Pete Webb and Giles Butcher. Giles joined the band full time after contributing percussion to four tracks on ‘Tempesta’ and, before Statik, learnt his drumming skills with avant-garde percussion outfit, the Bow Gamelan Ensemble and their leader Paul Burwell. Pete and Giles then enlisted a series of guests including nu-blues singer Katie Tokus, Alpha’s Helen White, Bristol-based rapper Stepchild, Ex-Bristol Rapper Hollis Byrne (Marxman) and 22 year-old wonder-kid DJ Louis Gee adding some serious turntable wizardry.

With a more settled line-up, the resulting album My-Ooh-Zik was a far more cogent set of tunes which Pete and Giles felt worked as a properly unified piece of music. From the irresistible bass kick of opener ‘Hazey Funk’, through ‘Wired’s delicate break beats and Helen’s impassioned vocals on ‘Just a Thing’, ‘/My ooh – Zik/’ was the assured sound of a band exploring both the limits of electronic music and the range of core human feelings. Released on their own Remote Records the album again gained critical acclaim. They again toured Europe with the album and then returned to explore new areas. Statik are currently working on new material for a new album to be released in 2006.

Contact - Pete @ Statik Sound System –
or ring 0776 0224737

Set One, Sunset Tracks
1 In Our Own Dub
2 Amazed by You
3 Hazey Dub
4 Wrap
5 Just a Thing
6 Vacuum
7 The Sunlight in Your Eyes
8 Revolutionary Pilot
9 Sonar
10 Dreams of Mine
11 Dr Wheeler

Set Two
1 Sublime
2 Better Man
3 Dr Wheeler
4 Murky P
5 Secret Love
6 Set Me Free
7 Sonar
8 Up in the Air
9 Valentine
10 Wired
11 Positive